faloiweb.blogg.se

Create usb bootable windows 10
Create usb bootable windows 10











(I dropped the byte size in case that's a problem). pv Windows10.iso | sudo dd of=/dev/sdc conv=fdatasync bs=512k Then I run: lsblkĪnd make the NTFS filesystem with this command: sudo mkfs -t ntfs /dev/sdc1Īfter which, I tried running dd, but with an additional option:conv=fdatasync (which some folks say insures nothing stays in the cache and may solve this problem). That should format a new partition and change it from the default (linux) to the ntfs partition I need. I rebooted, and ran the following commands sudo umount /dev/sdc1 This was upsetting, but I decided to start off fresh. This appears to nuke the entire partition, as you can see from fdisk: my terminal output showing the command and fdisk. (which to those familiar is the same command, piped through dd, and with sdc instead). I'd read in some places that you're not supposed to output to the partition (sdc1) but to the drive (sdc), so I tried this: sudo pv Windows10.iso | sudo dd of=/dev/sdc bs=5M Gparted shows this:īy comparison, another normally working usb flash drive (i got 4) reads like this: I get a partition that seems to mount on Debian, but is otherwise unrecognized on windows and mac. When I try to create a Win10 image in the terminal, I tried this command: sudo dd if=Windows10.iso of=/dev/sdc1 bs=512k

create usb bootable windows 10

Though I can easily create a bootable Windows 10 usb with rufus, my goal is more educational: I want to understand what is going on, and what is the source of my failure, and if possible, to make it work. I've read instructions on various sites (besides here) and they all seem to be missing something. My goal is so simple, the title says it all, but every way I've tried, I've failed.













Create usb bootable windows 10